>> Liberation Concert Margraten 2017
Concert date for 2017: Sunday 17 September 2017   >> Read more


Requiem 2009
The Margraten Requiem was held for the fourth time at the American Cemetery on Sunday, September 13, 2009. The American Battle Monuments Commission, which administers and maintains the cemetery, granted permission for this concert to take place. The Requiem concerts of the previous three years had been very well received. The Limburg Symphony Orchestra performed Dvořák’s Requiem that day, conducted by Kynan Johns. The Requiem concerts held previously at the American cemetery were Mozart’s Requiem in 2006, Verdi’s Requiem in 2007, and Brahms’ German Requiem in 2008.
Conductor: Kynan Johns
Helen Lepalaan, mezzo-soprano
Maribeth E. Diggle, soprano
Pascal Pittie, tenor
Richard Sveda, baritone
Choir: Vocaal Collectief (rehearsal conductor: Jaak Gregoor)
Antonín Dvořák
Antonín Dvořák composed his Requiem in 1890, the year in which his peak creative period began. The composition is a reflection on the often disturbing central questions of human existence. The structure of the mass is rather unusual: it consists of two parts, both of which are made up of the usual interconnection of a number of sequences. Between the Sanctus and the Agnus Dei, Dvořák added a lyrical movement, Pie Jesu, based on the final text of the Dies irae sequence. The first few notes, two ascending half-tones connected to each other by the sorrowful sound of a diminished third, form the basic melodic motif that continues throughout the work in many variations.

Dvořák’s Requiem is one of the finest works from the Classical-Romantic period. The composition inspired many other Czech composers, including Josef Suk and Bohuslav Martinů. The Requiem was premiered on October 9, 1891, in Birmingham (UK), conducted by Dvořák himself. This successful performance opened his pathway to glory.
Dvořák’s Requiem consists of two sections and has a total duration of 94 minutes:
Section I:
1. Introitus: Requiem aeternam
2. Graduale: Requiem aeternam
3. Sequentia: Dies irae - Tuba mirum - Quid sum miser - Recordare, Jesu pie - Confutatis maledictis - Lacrimosa

Section II :
4. Offertorium: Domine Jesu Christe - Hostias
5. Sanctus - Pie Jesu
6. Agnus Dei