>> Liberation Concert Margraten 2017
Concert date for 2017: Sunday 17 September 2017   >> Read more


Requiem 2008

The third edition of the Margraten Requiem saw the performance of Ein deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem) by Johannes Brahms, his most beautiful and impressive work. Ein deutsches Requiem is not funeral music. The central theme of the work is not the eternal rest of the dead, but the offering of comfort to those who suffer – it is music for the living. It is therefore particularly appropriate for a performance at a place of remembrance.
Conducted by Kynan Johns, the Limburg Symphony Orchestra performed the Requiem with a full complement of around eighty musicians, a number of internationally-renowned soloists and the cooperation of the Vocaal Collectief from Antwerp, conducted by Jaak Gregoor.
Brahms’ Deutsches Requiem has the following movements:
Introïtus: Selig sind die da Leid tragen, denn sie sollen getröstet werden. (Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.)
Kyrie: Denn alles Fleisch, es ist wie Gras und alle Herrlichkeit des Menschen wie des Grases blumen. (For all flesh is as grass, and all the glory of man as the flower of grass.)
Sequentia: Herr, lehre doch mich, dass ein Ende mit mir haben muss, und mein Leben ein Ziel hat, und ich davon muss. (Lord, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am.)
Offertorium: Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen, Herr Zebaoth! (How lovely are thy tabernacles,
O Lord of hosts!)
Sanctus: Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit; aber ich will euch ieder sehen, und euer Herz soll sich freuen und euere Freude soll niemand von euch nehmen. (And ye now therefore have sorrow: but I will see you again, and your heart shall rejoice, and your joy no man taketh from you.)
Agnus Die: Denn wir haben hie keine bleibende Statt, sondern die zukünftige suchen wir. (For here have we no continuing city, but we seek one to come.)
Responsorium: Selig sind die Toten, die in dem Herrn sterben von nun an. (Blessed are the dead, which die in the Lord, from henceforth.)
Martina Rüping, soprano
Geert Smits, baritone
Martina Rüping
Geert Smits
Jaak Gregoor
Kynan Johns
Vocaal Collectief